Skip to content

Pleasing God

June 25, 2012

How Do I Please God?
http://laudell.wordpress.com/

In the life and ministry of Jesus Christ there was no question that He lived to please God, the Father. Jesus stated in John 8:29 And he that sent me is with me: the Father hath not left me alone; for I do always those things that please him. His works, His life, His ministry, His everyday path, was well pleasing to God. In fact,God declared in a loud thunderous voice, “This is my beloved Son in whom I am well pleased.”

But the question is, “How do I please the Lord?” I have failed in trying to please some people but I desire, cry for and long for a life that is well pleasing to Him. So I ask myself the question and maybe you also, “How do I please the Lord?”

The scriptures mention a warning in Romans 8:8 So then they that are in the flesh cannot please God. Simply stated, pleasing God is a spiritual path not a fleshly pursuit. I must follow Him in Spirit and not try to gain His attention through the flesh. This makes it more defined as to the purpose of my desire to please Him.

Scripturally, there are three distinctive to pleasing God:

First, to please God is to praise Him. Psalms 69:30-31 I will praise the name of God with a song, and will magnify him with thanksgiving. This also shall please the LORD …” To please God is to worship God. Praise His Name, sing, magnify Him and give Him thanks, attracts God’s pleasure. Break out in a song, worship Him and He will have pleasure in your voice.

Secondly, to please God is to have faith in God. Heb 11:6 But without faith it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him. To believe Him is to please Him. Simply trusting in God that He will do what He said He will do, pleases Him.

Thirdly, to please God is through obedience to God. 1 John 3:22 And whatsoever we ask, we receive of him, because we keep his commandments, and do those things that are pleasing in his sight. Say “yes” to God and “no” to the devil is a simple formula with big results. Listening to His voice and living in obedience to Him pleases God. To fine tune your spirit to be in accord with His voice and to listen to Him and then to follow in obedience is well pleasing to the Lord.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment