Skip to content

Working out our own Salvation

February 20, 2010

Philippians 2:12 “Wherefore, my beloved, as ye have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling.”

Working Out Our Own Salvation

Today we are going to discuss the mandate that is given to us in the above scripture. We are told that we have to work out our salvation. What exactly does it mean to work out our own salvation? In this case, working it out means being obedient to the instructions and precepts of God. That means that if God has spoken directly to us concerning something, we have to obey and obey completely. Partial obedience is sin, plain and simple. That means that if God has communicated directly with us and there is no one that can confirm it for us, we still have to obey. That means that if we know to do right, we have to do right, for in doing so we are working out our own salvation.

In short, working out our own salvation means being totally obedient to God’s word and His will for our lives. Anything less is sin, because we know that partial obedience is sin. I know that for me, this was a hard pill to swallow simply because there were some things I had no problem with, but my flesh kicked back at some of the more difficult things (at least they were a little difficult for me). The biggest lesson I had to learn was that if I wanted all of God, I had to give Him all of me. I could not hold on to pockets here and there and not allow Him to be God over all. I was quick to obey concerning reading the word, attending church, and working within the church. Those were easy, but when it came to applying the word to those hidden places, the places that no one knew about but me and God, well that was a different story altogether. It took a lot of prayer and development of trust to fully let go of everything that I felt I needed to hold on to. What I knew in my head was that it all belonged to God anyway, but I had to get the revelation in my heart and spirit that I could trust God with anything.

Many of us have had and still have problems trusting God because of past hurts, past abandonments and fear. But if we learn to truly release everything that we are secretly holding on to, we can truly experience everything that God has for us. Most of us are our own hindrances and we don’t even realize it. Because we have not allowed God to be God in our lives, the true Lord of our lives, we are continually experiencing defeat and frustration. We are trying to do things in our own strength and not allowing ourselves to be led and guided by the Holy Spirit. We are truly missing out on a wonderful relationship filled with victory and joy.

It is my prayer that we all learn to allow God to take control of every aspect of our christian walk. I pray that we open up every “hidden” area and allow God full access and control in that area. I pray that as we let go, we feel a liberty as never before and we begin to experience the fullness of God being God in our lives. In the name of Jesus, Amen.

Prophetess/Teacher Karen D. Bethea
(Profetisa y Maestra)
**Are you a member of the CREW®?(Christians Ready to Evangelize the World)**
“So then faith cometh by hearing and hearing by the word of God..” Romans 10:17
“Así que la fe viene como resultado de oír el mensaje y el mensaje que se oye es la palabra de Dios.” Romanos 10:17

Soñar, no cuesta nada
(Dream, it doesn’t cost anything)

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

