Skip to content

Who is the King of Glory?

April 4, 2008

Who Is the King of Glory?!?
 
Psalm 14 and Psalm 24, both in their entirety.
 
Referential Scripture:  Psalm 53 (this psalm is almost identical to Psalm 14)
 
For those of you who do not know, these two Psalms are the exact opposite of each other.  They are both attributed to King David.  When contrasted, they make it plain the type of man that pleases God.  Psalm 14 gives the example of the foolish man and Psalm 24 paints a picture of a man that God is pleased with, one that God extends His mercy to without limit.  As you read the two Psalms, you get the impression that David knew that both of these men dwelt within him but he had to choose which one to give reign to.  Which man will you give reign to?  Let’s look at the Psalms before we decide.
 
Psalm 14 laments the foolish man who says in his heart there is no God (verse 1).  David goes on to say that God looks down from heaven seeking if there are any that understood the need to seek him (verse 2).  God is not pleased because they have all gone aside and none do good, not one. 
 
Psalm 24 extols the goodness of God and His sovereignty.  The Psalm explains that God created the world and everything within it, including man (verses 1 and 2).  Then the question is asked, who shall ascend into the hill of the Lord(the holy of holies) and who shall stand before Him.  Only the one who has clean hands and a pure heart; one who is humble and has not sworn deceitfully (verses 3 and 4).  In this Psalm, God finds the man that seeks Him, seeks HIs face.  Because they seek Him, the King of Glory shall come in!!! The Lord strong and mighty, the Lord mighty in battle (verse 8)!!!  That means that in every situation that we as believers find ourselves in, in our weakness He is made strong. 
 
When we have done all that we can do, it then that we move out of the way and allow the Lord to fight our battles.  Whatever that battle may be.  If you are anything like me, you use to pick and choose which battles you would allow the Lord to help you with, but now after acquiring many unnecessary battle scars and having been beaten and bruised, you have learned to get out of the way and allow the Lord to take control. 
 
It’s not as easy to do as we think, but bless God we are no longer in the way, interrupting the process.  I have been dealing with a situation and I had been trying to handle it myself.  I was trying to work it out and fix it my way.  After I got through tussling with it and I sat back and was still, I realized that God was waiting for me to get out of the way the whole time.  I just thank God that even when I was messing up, His grace kept me!!  That is just so awesome to me, to know that God loves me enough to patiently wait for me to move and then come and fix what I messed up.  He is truly an awesome God!!!
 
To those of you who are a lot like me and trying to fix things and situations in your own strength, move out of the way and allow the King of Glory to come in.  Allow Him to be the Lord mighty in your battle!!!!!  Allow the spiritual man to prevail over that fleshly nature that is within us all and allow God to get all of the Glory!!
 
Be blessed, 

Prophetess/Teacher  Karen D. Bethea   **Are you a member of the CREW®?**
“And I sought for a man among them, that should make up the hedge, and stand in the gap before me for the land, that I should not destroy it: but I found none..” Ezekiel 22:30
 
Soñar, no cuesta nada
(Dream, it doesn’t cost anything)

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

